The meaning behind the name

My guess is you are wondering if there is a meaning behind the name of my new blog. The answer to that would be yes…but it involves confessing something about myself. A dirty little secret I don’t often share with people. Okay…here it is. I like to look in people’s windows. Not in the way a peeping tom would, so don’t worry. However, I do prefer to do this when I am walking, or driving, at night. Partly because it is dark but also because most people are home at night.

I know this may sound odd to some, but I know I cannot be the only one out there (come on…fess up!). But for those of you that don’t understand this…let me explain. It is not to catch people in the act of doing something that should be private. God forbid… NO! However, when I look in someone’s window I like to imagine what their lives are like. I like to see how they decorate and if they all sit down to dinner together as a family. What I really like is to see whether they spend their evenings watching television or curled up with a good book. See…it is a very innocent curiosity that I have had all my life.

However, I know you are thinking…well that doesn’t explain why she gave her blog that name. Ah yes…but it does. I thought it was time to open my own “drapes”, or life, a little. I just finished writing my first novel, which has been a dream of mine since I was young. In doing so, I found that there is almost nothing that is more exposing than writing. Yes, I write fiction so I make things up. And yes…I can hide behind my characters. But to write, especially with the goal of getting published, it can make you feel very vulnerable.

You open yourself up to, not only self doubt – am I really good enough?. But you also open yourself up to possible rejection. Not only from literary agents, readers, and critics, but a myriad of people in the publishing world. I have heard many writers refer to their manuscript as their child, or becoming attached to their characters. I am no different. Even the most evil character in my book will always hold a special place in my heart. So to put my “child” out there, with the chance she could get rejected…it is hard. Even the name I gave my child, Murder In The Gem State, is at risk of being changed when it gets published. But when a complete stranger walks up to me, my published novel under their arm, and tell me that they could not put my book down…then it will all be worth it.

So there it is…my first post, on my first blog, ever! Hey, I am still in one piece. Okay, this may not be as scary as I thought. I cannot promise that I will divulge a secret in every post, but I will do my best to be interesting enough that you are glad you came and will want to return. But for now…do me a favor…please don’t close your drapes!

17 thoughts on “The meaning behind the name

  1. Welcome to the Blogosphere sister! I too like to look in people’s windows and until now, would never have admitted it to anyone. I long to be invited in and to see how they have chosen to arrange their home. I hope to read more from you. Welcome and keep writing!
    KK

  2. Lisa, I must say I thought you were a bit perverted when I started reading your first post (congrats!). Then, I kept reading and thought, “Hmm. If I ever walk by her house, I’ll be sure to look in.” I enjoyed the post and look forward to more.

  3. Lisa, I think everyone is guilty of “looking through the drapes”. I know I for one have caught myself doing the same thing. Happy to hear that your first novel is completed, a big congrats and pat on the back!

    I know what you mean about exposing yourself to the publishing world and the worries that goes along with it. I actually find myself cringing when someone says they are gonna go buy No Remorse because I still have those ‘self doubts’ you mentioned. But hey, gotta take that leap and remember that not everyone is going to like your writing style, there will be critcs, take them with a grain of salt and keep writing! (now I just have to remember my own advice when I get a bad review…)

    This is excellent for a first blog and I keep my drapes open most of the time! 🙂
    Happy writing!
    MaryLynn Bast

    • Hi MaryLynn!

      I am so glad you stopped by! Oh you HAVE to stop cringing!! The trailer you did for the book was awesome. So I can only imagine how great the book is! I, for one, am anxious to read it! I am so very happy for you! And just remember all of the greats have had bad reviews, so IF you get any (doubting) you among the best!!!

      Thanks so much for your opinion on the blog!! Take care and continued success!!!

      Lisa

  4. Ewura,

    Thanks for the welcome!! I KNEW I would find people that also looked in windows! So do you think this will become a support group for us “window peepers”? LOL…so glad you stopped by!

  5. Gwendolyn,

    Hello! LOL…I am not surprised you thought this might be an “iffy” post. But I am so glad you stopped by and even happier that you enjoyed it! And anytime you are walking by my house…do not just peek in…come to the door!

  6. Congratulations on your new journey and on your novel accomplishment.
    Best wishes for inspiration (and time) for many more blog posts.
    and, I don’t think passing glances into others’ windows is any different than turning into the conversations around you. We’re writers that’s what we do!

    Deb
    dlcommunicates.wordpress.com
    frugalistagiftguide.wordpress.com

  7. Congratulations on your new blog and your novel accomplishment. I wish you inspiration (and time!) for many more.
    To me, glancing in others windows is no difft than briefly tuning into others’ conversations in public. We’re writers, it’s what we do! 😉

    Deb
    dlcommunicates.wordpress.com
    frugalistagiftguide.wordpress.com

    • Thanks Deb! Especially for the wish for time. I really enjoyed writing that…it was so different than writing about murder. Now I just have to make sure I remember to post regularly. LOL

      Take care!

      • I did really well during the Blog A Day, but it was a struggle and felt like a job!
        At any rate, my intention is to put in enough meaningful info to make my sporadic blogging less detrimental ;-D

  8. I love your blog, Lisa!! I, too, love to look into homes(from the street or sidewalk of course) as I walk or drive past them wondering what their lives are like and making guesses about their personalities based on the brief glimpses of decor.

    Opening your life to everyone hidden behind pieces of your characters will be fantastically entertaining! You will be (and already are) an enormous success. I am blessed and proud to know you and love you my dear friend. You are an amazing writer with hordes of talent. Your page-turning first novel is one of the best pieces of fiction I have ever had the pleasure to read. You WILL be published because of your incredible, fascinating, suspensful, creative writing style that you have shown in your first novel. I am amazed!!!!!

    • Mar….you are beyond sweet!! And after all these years neither of us knew we were both “peepers”.

      Thank you so much for your comments! And thank you for being my editor/beta reader! You are a true friend!

Leave a Reply

